Skip to content

Diamond Jubilee Art Challenge

June 5, 2012

It seems that in the past few years the British had quite a few occasions to celebrate with their Royals and to wave the pretty flags. Be it a Royal Wedding or a Coronation Jubilee, they know how to throw a feast! Watching crowds of people joining one big street tea party or simply shouting “Hurray” for the Queen makes you want to feel a part of it…

This time I had a chance.

The Big Diamond Jubilee Art Challenge, announced on Making a Mark, was a task to produce a drawing or a painting or a print or a sculpture to celebrate the Diamond Jubilee. I just wish I would have heard about it earlier…

Anyway, artists could choose any subject, they could use any media, any style and there was no limit to the artwork’s size or the artist’s age or the country they are from. Oh, and no entry fee. Superb! So last night, while watching the concert held next to Buckingham Palace, I was coming up with things that are very British and things that remind me of the Queen. My challenge was to draw sixty such things, yet sadly I ran out of time… (I think there’s only 39 little drawings, well, you can always count). I wanted to call it “60 Years”, but now there’s no way I can do so.

Royal Britain, 2012

Below you will find artwork created by people who took the Diamond Jubilee much more serious than me. For some it must have taken not hours and not days, but probably weeks or even months to finish their creations.

Artist Jane Perkins has created three portraits of the Queen made from discarded pieces of rubbish. The triptych depicts the monarch in three stages of life: during her Coronation, Silver Jubilee and the Diamond Jubilee. Two of the portraits are seen above.

Her Majesty’s face has been portrayed in a giant artwork called ‘Cupcake Queen’. Dr. Oetker commissioned food artist Prudence Staite to create the picture to celebrate the Diamond Jubilee.

A work by street artist Bambi depicts the Queen astride a motorcycle, on Windsor Street, Islington, London.

Jewellery designer Dinny Hall holds a 10cm Lego figure of the Queen complete with a real diamond-encrusted crown at Legoland Windsor.

For more unusual portraits created to mark the event please click here.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Photographs by Peter Knight permalink
    June 5, 2012 9:25 am

    Lovely piece of art work. I liked the addition of a traditional red telephone box – they are my favourite thing about the London streets! sadly not so much need for them these days but we still see some around which is nice!!

    • June 6, 2012 7:24 pm

      Thank you for your nice comment. I do agree with you that the red telephone boxes should stay forever – even when we can comunicate using just our thoughts! One thing that I absolutely Iove about British culture is the way they stick to traditions. The rest of the world might giggle, but the Brits simply don’t care and sip lets say Earl Grey, which is followed by a huge bite of carrot cake. Oh, well…

  2. thecolourofideas permalink
    June 5, 2012 10:39 am

    Yes I saw this but unfortunately I didn’t have enough time. I like your idea of sixty small drawings perhaps you could just carry on anyway if you have time 🙂

    • June 6, 2012 7:26 pm

      It’s a pity you didn’t have a go, Sandra. I would love to see what you would think of. I think I will have to carry on as after I have announced that there’re only 39 little drawings, my flag seems incomplete 🙂

  3. June 5, 2012 2:16 pm

    That Lego figure is wicked cool! 🙂

    • June 6, 2012 7:29 pm

      I never had a Lego queen while growing up… Things change and people keep coming up with all sorts of pretty inventions. Headway!

  4. June 6, 2012 9:11 am

    I agree with ‘thecolourofideas’ – it’s the jubillee year 😉 and this weekend was just the start of the celebration…so I think you should continue, seeing your truly beautiful piece as a work in progress. Looking forward to seeing the completed “60 Years” masterpiece!!! xx

    • June 6, 2012 7:31 pm

      Thank you, Alan. This is very encouraging. I think I will finish this piece – a challenge is a challenge 🙂 I’ll let you know how it will turn out. K. xxx

Trackbacks

  1. Paintings for the Diamond Jubilee | The SuperSlinger Site

Leave a comment